ISP

Last months Telcom Ambassador newsletter discussed True High Speed Internet Access.  Different suppliers appear to have different definitions of High Speed.  I’m not using the high speed suppliers name in this article because of the litigious world we live in.  I have access to a high speed (20Mbps) internet in our office.  I frequently check the speed of the connection using one of the most popular test sites www.speedtest.net and always get 20Mbps+ of internet speed.  I then go to a much less popular site called www.speedtest.jbi.in to test my speed and it typically shows between 3 and 6 Mbps.  Same connection same computer, tests are conducted within a 1 minute time frame and the disparity always exists!  I reproduced this same test on my home internet access (3Mbps) which happens to be with a different supplier using a fiber optic network.   Not so surprisingly the two sites show nearly the same results consistently – 2.4Mbps vs. 2.8Mbps.  Why do I think the disparity exists?  Supplier A is optimizing bandwidth to the most frequently used internet speed test sites and not optimizing it to the obscure sites.  They are doing this to improve the customer’s satisfaction with the connection.  I’ve felt many times that something must be wrong with my computer, when in my opinion it is the ISP giving me a very slow connection to all sites except the most popular internet speed test sites.

If Uptime, Jitter, Packet Loss and Latency (VoIP!) are important to your Business applications don’t discount using multiple T1’s.  To my knowledge every CLEC that I’ve ran into over the years has always given the bandwidth that the customer has been sold.  – Caveat Emptor!

Craig Hodges

craig_hodges@bsbcom.com

586-330-9252

Leave a Reply

